Introduction Video

I embark on yet another first as part of my journey to an MET at Boise State University. I have never blogged before and now I begin my first post reflecting on my Introduction Video assignment as part of Ed Tech 501, Introduction to Educational Technology.

This involved many new things for me. I have made videos before and even seen a few posted to You Tube. However, those movies were made using some sort of tape first. Up until this class, I have never completely composed a movie, filmed, compiled from others and edited on a computer. As with most projects, there were a combination of factors I could control and those I could not. I discovered I could not edit the lighting of subjects who recorded their parts and emailed them to me. I could control the audio and edit high frequency pitches evident in some of the portions. I incorporated transitions and music to make my video more interesting to the viewer. I used IMovie to compile and edit my production, and Garageband to add sound effects. A key issue learned was time. When I posted my movie, it was five minutes in length. Once on YouTube it became 5:01 and now embedded here it is 5:02. It serves to remind me to insure my production is as intended when I teach. I also learned how to edit my Preferences in order to embed my video. Nelson Baquero was patient and calm as he guided me through yet another first.

I certainly would align this video with ACET 2.4 Integrated Technologies as I compiled multiple media into one production. I combined the numerous elements to weave an introductory video for my peers and teacher. By posting it on the class discussion board, my video became interactive allowing others to offer feedback both affirming and critically analyzing elements of the work they viewed. This provided insight to me from those both near and far geographically reinforcing the value of my chosen Master’s program.

As you can see, I still have a great deal to learn, with this production resembling more Ed Wood’s Plan 9 From Outer Space than Akira Kurosawa’s Rashomon. I look forward to learning new skills and applications to make me a better communicator, listener and educator.

Kurosawa, A. (Director). 1950. Rashomon [Film]. Toyko: Daiei.
Wood, E. (Director). 1959. Plan 9 From Outer Space [Film]. Los Angeles: Reynolds.

About "B" Bernheim
“B”, his nickname, returns to the other side of the desk after many years. Graduating from UNC-Charlotte in 1983 with a BA in Education (K-12), he entered active service with the US Army. He began teaching high school upon completion of his tour of duty. B taught Language Arts and Social Studies for one year at the middle school level. English, Composition, Public Speaking, Theater, Forensics, and Technical Theater are among the subjects he has taught in public high school settings. Most recently, he was a Strategies of Instruction teacher, Assistant Dean of Students, dorm parent, girls’ hockey coach and rock climbing instructor at The Forman School in Litchfield, CT. The Forman School is a 9-12 boarding school specifically targeting students who learn differently.

Leave a Reply

