Asychronous Netiquette Scavenger Hunt-521

Here is my assignment. Here is my Google Doc for the Scavenger Hunt. I was pretty frustrated for much of this time with technology. I seemed to advance one step and go back ten. I realize that it is less the technology and more the PIC (Person In Chair), meaning me.

The audio portion went pretty quickly once I satisfied myself I could not get it any cleaner with the microphone on my headset. It still drives me batty and I will at some point invest in a better microphone for recording lessons or speaking online. For the moment, I am a military spouse in the middle of shutdown and the microphone is at the bottom of my need list.

The website validated CSS and only had one error in HTML5. It did not like the code in the Prezi. Still frustrated with validating my page using Prezi. I have not discovered the fix. Will need to reach out to our tech support through the EDTECH Department and get guidance.

Asychronous discussion has it’s place. I, too, have a distinct disdain for the “post one and reply to three” requirement. The relationship becomes forced. I think experiencing a lesson or exploring a document on Google Docs becomes a 24 hour learning opportunity. However, mixing in a sychronous piece to the puzzle once in a while adds a great deal to the texture of a lesson. It gives a different flavor to knowing just a bit more about the folks with whom you are sharing experiences and wisdom.

I realize many folks here may have a disdain for synchronous lessons since most are in this program to fit their own busy schedules. There are also folks who eat their meals in very organized fashion. Peas cannot touch the potatoes and the potatoes cannot touch the chicken. And then there is me. I’m a chicken pot pie kinda guy. I think the mix is healthy and if nothing else, is comfort food for the brain.

About "B" Bernheim
“B”, his nickname, returns to the other side of the desk after many years. Graduating from UNC-Charlotte in 1983 with a BA in Education (K-12), he entered active service with the US Army. He began teaching high school upon completion of his tour of duty. B taught Language Arts and Social Studies for one year at the middle school level. English, Composition, Public Speaking, Theater, Forensics, and Technical Theater are among the subjects he has taught in public high school settings. Most recently, he was a Strategies of Instruction teacher, Assistant Dean of Students, dorm parent, girls’ hockey coach and rock climbing instructor at The Forman School in Litchfield, CT. The Forman School is a 9-12 boarding school specifically targeting students who learn differently.

Leave a Reply

