Seven Ways Video Games Engage the Brain – Reflection

Mr. Chatfield is obviously very taken with video games and their use in society. I am not there yet. I think back on my high school music teacher’s Merit/Demerit board on the wall outside his office. Standards were clear. I never earned a letter until my senior year. I usually had more demerits than merits and the goal was 61 merits to achieve a letter. I never really cared (enough to work hard) to earn the letter until my senior year.  Would gaming have changed that outcome? I am not so sure. I know that I am still proud of that letter 40+ years later since not everyone earned the letter.

I get engagement. What I miss is the excitement about our REAL world and interacting in REAL time. As an administrator at a boarding school, I was challenged to have students leave their dorm rooms to interact with one another. Gaming has that draw.

Impact for designing my game would have to include something in real time they can do to bring back to the game or vice versa. I would want to include rewards in small increments to increase their desire to play the game and keep their engagement high.

About "B" Bernheim
“B”, his nickname, returns to the other side of the desk after many years. Graduating from UNC-Charlotte in 1983 with a BA in Education (K-12), he entered active service with the US Army. He began teaching high school upon completion of his tour of duty. B taught Language Arts and Social Studies for one year at the middle school level. English, Composition, Public Speaking, Theater, Forensics, and Technical Theater are among the subjects he has taught in public high school settings. Most recently, he was a Strategies of Instruction teacher, Assistant Dean of Students, dorm parent, girls’ hockey coach and rock climbing instructor at The Forman School in Litchfield, CT. The Forman School is a 9-12 boarding school specifically targeting students who learn differently.

One Response to Seven Ways Video Games Engage the Brain – Reflection

  1. What may have been lost in Chatfield’s description is that these worlds, although digital, are still real in the sense most meaningful to the user. In his book “Fun, Inc.”, he describes and organizes the brain-based research which puts these communications on par with other traditional face-to-face interactions. I think it is important to recognize that “real world” interactions can take multiple forms beyond face-to-face interpersonal communication.

Leave a Reply

