My Own Digital Footprint

Nail Image

Nails Leave a Trace – http://tinyurl.com/ordowld

The Digital community reminds me of a lesson I used with a dorm full of boys using inappropriate words and slurs to others both in their dorm and throughout campus. I had the boys hammer nails into a board as they expressed mean words. After all had done this, I had them remove each nail as they apologized. What they saw was a board full of nail holes. Digitally, I learned the same lesson this week. I discovered a complaint on a rental car Facebook page amidst all the other great things online. Although the post is not horrible, I cannot wish it away. However, it passes the “grandmother test” alluded in our resources page. If my grandmother were alive, the post would not embarrass her. I deleted my comment on the rental Facebook page, though it still shows in the search engine.

As part of the task this week, I researched my digital footprint on a variety of search engines. Though I had used Google before, I do not recall using all the search engines. I knew there were other David Bernheims in the US and abroad. I did not know there was another David M. Bernheim. Most had information that was favorable. MyLife has me incorrectly still living in Farragut, TN. I am not sure at this point how to correct that or if I am concerned about that error.

What I can do is try to use the new awareness and tools to continue to manage a positive professional image. I maintain separate accounts for my personal and professional Facebook accounts. On my private, personal Facebook page, I limit posts of pictures to Friends Only. I have made a conscious effort to insure I am putting my best foot forward in all social media postings. I want my brand to represent me in a positive light.

Some of the actions I am taking include positive profiles in Google+, Twitter, and both of my Facebook accounts. I write the vast majority of my posts in a Word document first to give me a chance to review what I post to insure I am meeting my goals. I am developing an action plan, which I will link to this post to help provide a new yardstick so I can have a positive digital footprint. My blog of my journey through my MET remains one of the high points of my digital footprint. I am proud of that content and happy that a few searches actually displayed some of my posts. My LinkedIn profile is current and up to date. I do not own a domain name; but may change that thought moving forward. Stay tuned.

About "B" Bernheim
“B”, his nickname, returns to the other side of the desk after many years. Graduating from UNC-Charlotte in 1983 with a BA in Education (K-12), he entered active service with the US Army. He began teaching high school upon completion of his tour of duty. B taught Language Arts and Social Studies for one year at the middle school level. English, Composition, Public Speaking, Theater, Forensics, and Technical Theater are among the subjects he has taught in public high school settings. Most recently, he was a Strategies of Instruction teacher, Assistant Dean of Students, dorm parent, girls’ hockey coach and rock climbing instructor at The Forman School in Litchfield, CT. The Forman School is a 9-12 boarding school specifically targeting students who learn differently.

Leave a Reply

